GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

SESSION LAW 2007-344 HOUSE BILL 842

AN ACT REMOVING CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE CITY OF KANNAPOLIS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

- (1) The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more than three miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
- (2) No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this section.
- (3) The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to provide the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it provides within its primary corporate limits.
- (4) If the area proposed for annexation, or any portion thereof, is a subdivision as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must be included.
- (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

SECTION 2. This act applies to the City of Kannapolis only.

SECTION 3. This act applies only to annexations in the area of Cabarrus County bound by the existing City of Kannapolis corporate limits to the east, the Mecklenburg County/Cabarrus County line to the west, the Cabarrus County/Rowan County/Iredell County lines to the north, and N.C. Highway 73 to the south.

SECTION 4. This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 2nd day of August, 2007.

s/ Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate

s/ Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives