GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

HOUSE BILL 326 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF GREEN LEVEL AND CONCERNING VOLUNTARY SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS BY THE TOWN OF OAK ISLAND.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, <u>Green Level</u>, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

SECTION 2.(a) G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(2) and G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) do not apply to the Town of Oak Island.

SECTION 2.(b) If the Town of Oak Island receives a petition for voluntary satellite annexation authorized by this section, it shall give the Town of St. James at least 30 days notice of the intent of the Town of Oak Island to consider the petition.

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 26th day of April, 2007.

Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives