GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 317*

1

Sponsors: Representatives Gulley, Tillis, Earle, Saunders (Primary Sponsors); Adams, Alexander, Allen, Almond, Avila, Barnhart, Bell, Blue, Blust, Bordsen, Boylan, Braxton, Brisson, Brubaker, Bryant, Carney, Church, Cleveland, Coleman, Current, Daughtridge, Daughtry, Dickson, Dockham, Dollar, England, Faison, Farmer-Butterfield, Fisher, Folwell, Frye, Gibson, Glazier, Goodwin, Grady, Hackney, Haire, Hilton, Holloway, Howard, Hurley, Jeffus, Johnson, Jones, Justus, Killian, Langdon, Lucas, Luebke, McAllister, McComas, McGee, McLawhorn, Moore, Neumann, Pate, Pierce, Rapp, Ray, Ross, Samuelson, Setzer, Spear, Stam, Starnes, Steen, Sutton, Thomas, Tolson, Tucker, Wainwright, Walker, R. Warren, Weiss, West, Wiley, Wilkins, Williams, Womble, Wray, and Wright.

Referred to: Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House.

February 22, 2007

 A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING INDEPENDENCE HIGH SCHOOL ON HAVING AN OUTSTANDING FOOTBALL TEAM AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF DEVIN HOWARD.
 Whereas, on December 9, 2006, the football team at Charlotte's Independence
 High School won the State's 4-AA Football Championship by defeating Durham's
 Riverside High School by a score of 49-19; and
 Whereas, the Patriots earned a place in the history books by becoming the

8 State's first public high school football team to win seven straight championships; and
9 Whereas, since September 2000, the Patriots have won 108 games in a row,

which is a national public school record; and

11 Whereas, many Patriot players have been recognized for their individual 12 efforts, including three players named to Parade Magazine's All-America team, two 13 players selected as the North Carolina Gatorade players of the year, and players chosen 14 for the Shrine Bowl team; and

Whereas, several former Patriots have played college-level football in the
 Atlantic Coast Conference, Southeastern Conference, and other conferences across the
 United States; and

18 Whereas, the Patriots owe much of their success during their outstanding 19 2006 season to head coach Tom Knotts who has been coaching football for 24 years and 20 has a record of 259-55; and

Η

General Assembly of North Carolina

1	Whereas, the achievements of Independence High School's football team is a
2	fitting testimonial and memorial to the dedicated young men who have played for the
3	team, including Devin Howard, who died in April of 2005 and had been selected as the
4	defensive player of the year in the ME-CA 8 conference and as a member of the
5	Charlotte Observer's All-Observer team and the All-State team in 2004; and
6	Whereas, the Patriot's successful football program has brought great honor
7	and distinction to the State and deserves recognition; Now, therefore,
8	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:
9	SECTION 1. The General Assembly congratulates the Independence High
10	School Patriots on winning the 2006 State 4-AA Football Championship and recognizes
11	the achievements of the players, coaches, students, alumni, and support staff who were
12	instrumental in helping the team succeed.
13	SECTION 2. The General Assembly honors the memory of Devin Howard
14	for his contributions to football at Independence High School.
15	SECTION 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a copy of this resolution
16	to the principal and head football coach at Independence High School and the family of
17	Devin Howard.
18	SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.