GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S SENATE BILL 861

Short Title: District 6A Judicial Personnel Funds. (Public)

Sponsors: Senators Holloman; Berger of Franklin, Kinnaird, and Snow.

Referred to: Appropriations/Base Budget.

March 23, 2005

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH A NEW DISTRICT COURT
JUDGE IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 6A.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

4 5

6 7 **SECTION 1.** G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

,	Tollowing mole.		
8	District	Judges	County
9	1	5	Camden
10			Chowan
11			Currituck
12			Dare
13			Gates
14			Pasquotank
15			Perquimans
16	2	4	Martin
17			Beaufort
18			Tyrrell
19			Hyde
20			Washington
21	3A	5	Pitt
22	3B	5	Craven
23			Pamlico
24			Carteret
25	4	8	Sampson
26			Duplin
27			Jones
28			Onslow
29	5	8	New Hanover

 23/3 7 6 4 2 2 2 	Pender Halifax Northampton Bertie Hertford Nash Edgecombe Wilson Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin Person
7642	Halifax Northampton Bertie Hertford Nash Edgecombe Wilson Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
7642	Northampton Bertie Hertford Nash Edgecombe Wilson Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
7642	Bertie Hertford Nash Edgecombe Wilson Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
642	Hertford Nash Edgecombe Wilson Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
642	Nash Edgecombe Wilson Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
642	Edgecombe Wilson Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
2	Wilson Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
2	Wayne Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
2	Greene Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
2	Lenoir Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
2	Granville (part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
2	(part of Vance see subsection (b)) Franklin
	see subsection (b)) Franklin
	Franklin
2	
2	Caswell
	Warren
	(part of Vance
4.5	see subsection (b))
15	Wake
8	Harnett
	Johnston
	Lee
9	Cumberland
6	Bladen
	Brunswick
	Columbus
6	Durham
4	Alamance
4	Orange
	Chatham
3	Scotland
	Hoke
5	Robeson
	Rockingham
	Stokes
	Surry
12	Guilford
	Cabarrus
	Montgomery
· ·	Moore
	Randolph
	Rowan
	4

Gene	eral Assembly of Nor	Session 200	
	20	7	Stanly
			Union
			Anson
			Richmond
	21	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
			Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
			Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
		•	Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	8	Burke
	25	O	Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	17	Mecklenburg
	27A	6	Gaston
	27B	4	Cleveland
	270	т	Lincoln
	28	6	Buncombe
	29	7	Henderson
	2)	,	McDowell
			Polk
			Rutherford
			Transylvania
	30	5	Cherokee
	30	J	Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson Macon
			Macon
			Swain." int the additional district court judg

SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 6A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2006 general election for a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in December 2006.

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of one hundred five thousand nine hundred forty-four dollars

40

41 42

43

44

- 1 (\$105,944) for the 2005-2006 fiscal year and the sum of one hundred twenty-six
- 2 thousand nine hundred forty-six dollars (\$126,946) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to
- 3 establish the new district court judge for District Court District 6A authorized by this
- 4 act.

5 **SECTION 4.** This act becomes effective October 1, 2005.