## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

## SENATE BILL 1991 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO PROVIDE BALANCE AMONG THE COUNTIES IN THE RESIDENCY OF DISTRICT COURT JUDGES IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 13 AND TO DIVIDE SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICT 13.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

"(b2) The qualified voters of District Court District 13 shall elect all six judges established for the District in subsection (a) of this section, but only persons who reside in Bladen County may be candidates for one of those judgeships, only persons who reside in Columbus County may be candidates for one of those judgeships, and only persons who reside in Brunswick County may be candidates for two of those judgeships. The district court judgeship established for residents of Bladen County by this subsection shall be the judgeship currently held by Judge Phillips, who resides in Bladen County. The district court judgeship established for residents of Columbus County by this subsection shall be the judgeship currently held by Judge Jolly, who resides in Columbus County. The district court judgeships established for residents of Brunswick County by this subsection shall be the judgeships currently held by Judge Barefoot and Judge Warren, who reside in Brunswick County. Those judges' successors shall be elected for four-year terms in the 2008 general election. Candidates for the remaining judgeships in District 13 may be residents of any county within the district."

"(a) The counties of the State are organized into judicial divisions and superior court districts, and each superior court district has the counties, and the number of regular resident superior court judges set forth in the following table, and for districts of less than a whole county, as set out in subsection (b) of this section:

Judicial	Court		Resident
Division	District	Counties	Judges
First	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates,	2
First	2	Pasquotank, Perquimans Beaufort, Hyde, Martin, Tyrrell, Washington	1
First	3A	Pitt	2 3
Second	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	3
Second	4A	Duplin, Jones, Sampson	1
Second	4B	Onslow	1
Second	5A	(part of New Hanover, part of Pender see subsection (b))	1
	5B	(part of New Hanover, part of Pender see subsection (b))	1
	5C	(part of New Hanover,	1

		see subsection (b))	
First	6A	Halifax	1
First	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	i 1
THSt	<b>0B</b>	Northampton	•
First	7A	Nash	1
First	7B	(part of Wilson,	1
riist	/ <b>D</b>		1
		part of Edgecombe,	
<b>L</b> . ,	70	see subsection (b))	1
First	7C	(part of Wilson,	1
		part of Edgecombe, see	
		subsection (b))	
Second	8A	Lenoir and Greene	1
Second	8B	Wayne	1
Third	9	Franklin, Granville,	2
		Vance, Warren	
Third	9A	Person, Caswell	1
Third	10A	(part of Wake,	2
		see subsection (b))	
Third	10B	(part of Wake,	2
Tilliu	10B	see subsection (b))	_
Third	10C	(part of Wake,	1
Tilliu	100		1
Thind	10D	see subsection (b))	1
Third	10D	(part of Wake,	1
ъ 4	114	see subsection (b))	1
Fourth	11A	Harnett, Lee	1
Fourth	11B	Johnston	1
Fourth	12A	(part of Cumberland,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fourth	12B	(part of Cumberland,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fourth	12C	(part of Cumberland,	2
		see subsection (b))	
Fourth	<del>13</del> <u>13A</u>	Bladen, Brunswick,	<u>2</u> <u>1</u>
		Columbus	
Fourth	13B	Brunswick	1
Third	1 <u>13</u> <u>1</u>	(part of Durham,	<del>1</del>
Timu	1-77 1	see subsection (b))	1
Third	14B	(part of Durham,	3
Tilliu	140	see subsection (b))	3
Third	15 A	Alamance	2
Third	15A		$\frac{2}{2}$
Third	15B	Orange, Chatham	2 1 2 2 2 1
Fourth	16A	Scotland, Hoke	1
Fourth	16B	Robeson	2
Fifth	17A	Rockingham	2
Fifth	17B	Stokes, Surry	2
Fifth	18A	(part of Guilford,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fifth	18B	(part of Guilford,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fifth	18C	(part of Guilford,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fifth	18D	(part of Guilford,	1
1 11 (11	1010	see subsection (b))	•
Fifth	18E	(part of Guilford,	1
riiui	1012		1
		see subsection (b))	

Page 2 S1991 [Ratified]

Sixth	19A	Cabarrus	1
Fifth	19B	Montgomery, Randolph	1
Sixth	19C	Rowan	1
Fifth	19D	Moore	1
Sixth	20A	Anson, Richmond,	2
		Stanly	
Sixth	20B	Union	1
Fifth	21A	(part of Forsyth,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fifth	21B	(part of Forsyth,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fifth	21C	(part of Forsyth,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fifth	21D	(part of Forsyth,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Sixth	22	Alexander, Davidson,	3
		Davie, Iredell	
Fifth	23	Alleghany, Ashe,	1
		Wilkes, Yadkin	
Eighth	24	Avery, Madison,	2
C		Mitchell, Watauga, Yancey	
Seventh	25A	Burke, Caldwell	2
Seventh	25B	Catawba	2 2 2
Seventh	26A	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
		see subsection (b))	
Seventh	26B	(part of Mecklenburg,	3
		see subsection (b))	
Seventh	26C	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
		see subsection (b))	
Seventh	27A	Gaston	2
Seventh	27B	Cleveland, Lincoln	2 2 2 1
Eighth	28	Buncombe	2
Eighth	29A	McDowell, Rutherford	1
Eighth	29B	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	1
Eighth	30A	Cherokee, Clay,	1
-		Graham, Macon, Swain	
Eighth	30B	Haywood, Jackson	1."
-	CECTION 2	The symposium count in decabin established	1 for

**SECTION 3.** The superior court judgeship established for District 13A by Section 2 of this act shall be filled by the judge currently serving District 13 who resides in Bladen or Columbus County, who shall serve until the expiration of that judge's current term.

**SECTION 4.** The superior court judgeship established for District 13B by Section 2 of this act shall be filled by the judge currently serving District 13 who resides in Brunswick County, who shall serve until the expiration of that judge's current term.

S1991 [Ratified] Page 3

**SECTION 5.** Section 5 of this act becomes effective October 1, 2006. Section 1 of this act becomes effective October 1, 2006, or the date upon which Section 1 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, whichever is later. Sections 2, 3, and 4 of this act become effective October 1, 2006, or the date upon which Section 2 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, whichever is later.

In the General Accembla, read these times the different content of the content of

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2006.

		Charlie S. Dannelly	ore of the Senete
		Deputy President Pro Temp	ore or the Senate
		I D DI I	
		James B. Black Speaker of the House of Re	presentatives
		Specific of the free of the	P1-00-11-001
		Michael F. Easley	
		Governor	
Approved	.m. this	day of	, 2006

Page 4 S1991 [Ratified]