GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S

SENATE BILL 1991 Judiciary I Committee Substitute Adopted 6/26/06

| Short Title: | District 13 County Resident Judgeships. | (Public) |
|--------------|---|----------|
| Sponsors: | | |

Referred to:

May 26, 2006

| 1 | | | A BILL TO BE ENTIT | LED | |
|----|---|--|-----------------------------|---------------------------------------|--|
| 2 | AN ACT | TO PROVII | DE BALANCE AMON | G THE COUNTIES IN THE | |
| 3 | RESIDENCY OF DISTRICT COURT JUDGES IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT | | | | |
| 4 | 13 ANI | 13 AND TO DIVIDE SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICT 13. | | | |
| 5 | The Generation | al Assembly of I | North Carolina enacts: | | |
| 6 | Ś | SECTION 1. G | .S. 7A-133 is amended by | adding a new subsection to read: | |
| 7 | " <u>(b2)</u> | The qualified vo | oters of District Court Di | strict 13 shall elect all six judges | |
| 8 | established for the District in subsection (a) of this section, but only persons who reside | | | | |
| 9 | in Bladen County may be candidates for one of those judgeships, only persons who | | | ose judgeships, only persons who | |
| 10 | reside in Columbus County may be candidates for one of those judgeships, and only | | | | |
| 11 | persons who reside in Brunswick County may be candidates for two of those | | | | |
| 12 | judgeships. The district court judgeship established for residents of Bladen County by | | | | |
| 13 | this subsection shall be the judgeship currently held by Judge Phillips, who resides in | | | | |
| 14 | Bladen County. The district court judgeship established for residents of Columbus | | | | |
| 15 | County by this subsection shall be the judgeship currently held by Judge Jolly, who | | | | |
| 16 | | | | geships established for residents of | |
| 17 | | | • | udgeships currently held by Judge | |
| 18 | | | | k County. Those judges' successors | |
| 19 | | | | eneral election. Candidates for the | |
| 20 | | | | of any county within the district." | |
| 21 | | | .S. 7A-41(a) reads as rewr | | |
| 22 | | | • | nto judicial divisions and superior | |
| 23 | court districts, and each superior court district has the counties, and the number of | | | | |
| 24 | - | - | | following table, and for districts of | |
| 25 | less than a | • | s set out in subsection (b) | of this section: | |
| 26 | | Superior | | | |
| 27 | Judicial | Court | | No. of Resident | |
| 28 | Division | District | Counties | Judges | |
| 29 | | | | | |

General Assembly of North Carolina

| 1 2 | First | 1 | Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, | 2 |
|--------|--------|-----|--|---|
| 3 | | | Pasquotank, Perquimans | |
| 4 | First | 2 | Beaufort, Hyde, | 1 |
| 5 | | | Martin, Tyrrell, Washington | |
| 6 | First | 3A | Pitt | 2 |
| 7 | Second | 3B | Carteret, Craven, | 3 |
| 8 | | | Pamlico | |
| 9 | Second | 4A | Duplin, Jones, | 1 |
| 10 | | | Sampson | |
| 11 | Second | 4B | Onslow | 1 |
| 12 | Second | 5A | (part of New Hanover, | 1 |
| 13 | | | part of Pender see subsection (b)) | |
| 14 | | 5B | (part of New Hanover, | 1 |
| 15 | | | part of Pender see subsection (b)) | |
| 16 | | 5C | (part of New Hanover, | 1 |
| 17 | | | see subsection (b)) | |
| 18 | First | 6A | Halifax | 1 |
| 19 | First | 6B | Bertie, Hertford, | 1 |
| 20 | | - | Northampton | |
| 21 | First | 7A | Nash | 1 |
| 22 | First | 7B | (part of Wilson, | 1 |
| 23 | | | part of Edgecombe, | |
| 24 | | | see subsection (b)) | |
| 25 | First | 7C | (part of Wilson, | 1 |
| 26 | | | part of Edgecombe, see | |
| 27 | | | subsection (b)) | |
| 28 | Second | 8A | Lenoir and Greene | 1 |
| 29 | Second | 8B | Wayne | 1 |
| 30 | Third | 9 | Franklin, Granville, | 2 |
| 31 | | - | Vance, Warren | |
| 32 | Third | 9A | Person, Caswell | 1 |
| 33 | Third | 10A | (part of Wake, | 2 |
| 34 | | | see subsection (b)) | _ |
| 35 | Third | 10B | (part of Wake, | 2 |
| 36 | | - | see subsection (b)) | |
| 37 | Third | 10C | (part of Wake, | 1 |
| 38 | | | see subsection (b)) | |
| 39 | Third | 10D | (part of Wake, | 1 |
| 40 | | - | see subsection (b)) | |
| 41 | Fourth | 11A | Harnett, Lee | 1 |
| 42 | Fourth | 11B | Johnston | 1 |
| 43 | Fourth | 12A | (part of Cumberland, | 1 |
| 44 | | | see subsection (b)) | |
| | | | (3)) | |

| General A | Assembly of Nort | Session 2005 | |
|---------------|--------------------------|----------------------|---------------|
| Fourth | 12B | (part of Cumberland, | 1 |
| | | see subsection (b)) | |
| Fourth | 12C | (part of Cumberland, | 2 |
| | | see subsection (b)) | |
| Fourth | 13 <u>13A</u> | Bladen, Brunswick, | <u>2 1</u> |
| | | Columbus | — |
| Fourth | <u>13B</u> | Brunswick | 1 |
| Third | 14A | (part of Durham, | $\frac{1}{1}$ |
| | | see subsection (b)) | |
| Third | 14B | (part of Durham, | 3 |
| | 1.2 | see subsection (b)) | C |
| Third | 15A | Alamance | 2 |
| Third | 15H | Orange, Chatham | $\frac{2}{2}$ |
| Fourth | 16A | Scotland, Hoke | 1 |
| Fourth | 16R | Robeson | 2 |
| Fifth | 10D 17A | Rockingham | $\frac{2}{2}$ |
| Fifth | 17R 17B | Stokes, Surry | $\frac{2}{2}$ |
| Fifth | 17B 18A | (part of Guilford, | 1 |
| 1,1111 | IoA | — | 1 |
| Fifth | 18B | see subsection (b)) | 1 |
| FIIUI | 10D | (part of Guilford, | 1 |
| Eifth | 100 | see subsection (b)) | 1 |
| Fifth | 18C | (part of Guilford, | 1 |
| D :64 | 10D | see subsection (b)) | 1 |
| Fifth | 18D | (part of Guilford, | 1 |
| F ' 64 | 105 | see subsection (b)) | 1 |
| Fifth | 18E | (part of Guilford, | 1 |
| C : 1 | 10.4 | see subsection (b)) | 1 |
| Sixth | 19A | Cabarrus | |
| Fifth | 19B | Montgomery, Randolph | l |
| Sixth | 19C | Rowan | 1 |
| Fifth | 19D | Moore | 1 |
| Sixth | 20A | Anson, Richmond, | 2 |
| | | Stanly | |
| Sixth | 20B | Union | 1 |
| Fifth | 21A | (part of Forsyth, | 1 |
| | | see subsection (b)) | |
| Fifth | 21B | (part of Forsyth, | 1 |
| | | see subsection (b)) | |
| Fifth | 21C | (part of Forsyth, | 1 |
| | | see subsection (b)) | |
| Fifth | 21D | (part of Forsyth, | 1 |
| | | see subsection (b)) | |
| Sixth | 22 | Alexander, Davidson, | 3 |
| | | Davie, Iredell | |

General Assembly of North Carolina

| 1 | Fifth | 23 | Alleghany, Ashe, | 1 |
|------------|---------|-----|-------------------------------|-----|
| 2 | | | Wilkes, Yadkin | |
| 3 | Eighth | 24 | Avery, Madison, | 2 |
| 4 | C | | Mitchell, Watauga, Yancey | |
| 5 | Seventh | 25A | Burke, Caldwell | 2 |
| 6 | Seventh | 25B | Catawba | 2 |
| 7 | Seventh | 26A | (part of Mecklenburg, | 2 |
| 8 | | | see subsection (b)) | |
| 9 | Seventh | 26B | (part of Mecklenburg, | 3 |
| 10 | | | see subsection (b)) | |
| 11 | Seventh | 26C | (part of Mecklenburg, | 2 |
| 12 | | | see subsection (b)) | |
| 13 | Seventh | 27A | Gaston | 2 |
| 14 | Seventh | 27B | Cleveland, Lincoln | 2 |
| 15 | Eighth | 28 | Buncombe | 2 |
| 16 | Eighth | 29A | McDowell, Rutherford | 1 |
| 17 | Eighth | 29B | Henderson, Polk, Transylvania | 1 |
| 18 | Eighth | 30A | Cherokee, Clay, | 1 |
| 19 | - | | Graham, Macon, Swain | |
| 20 | Eighth | 30B | Haywood, Jackson | 1." |
| A 1 | - | | | 1.0 |

SECTION 3. The superior court judgeship established for District 13A by Section 2 of this act shall be filled by the judge currently serving District 13 who resides in Bladen or Columbus County, who shall serve until the expiration of that judge's current term.

SECTION 4. The superior court judgeship established for District 13B by
Section 2 of this act shall be filled by the judge currently serving District 13 who resides
in Brunswick County, who shall serve until the expiration of that judge's current term.

SECTION 5. Section 5 of this act becomes effective October 1, 2006. Section 1 of this act becomes effective October 1, 2006, or the date upon which Section 1 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, whichever is later. Sections 2, 3, and 4 of this act become effective October 1, 2006, or the date upon which Section 2 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, whichever is later.