GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

Η

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION DRHJR10035-LG-36* (02/01)

D

Sponsors:	Representatives Haire and West (Primary Sponsors).
Referred to:	

1	A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE TOWN OF
2	FRANKLIN ON THE TOWN'S 150 TH ANNIVERSARY.
3	Whereas, in 1820, the North Carolina General Assembly set aside 400 acres
4	as the seat of government in Macon County and authorized the sale of 20 town lots to
5	establish the town site; and
6	Whereas, Jesse Franklin, together with James Meabin, was appointed to
7	survey the 400 acres and locate the county seat, now the Town of Franklin in its present
8	site; and
9	Whereas, the first house, a small round log cabin, was built shortly thereafter
10	by Joshua Roberts; and
11	Whereas, on December 3, 1832, the Baptist Church was granted three acres
12	and 72 poles of land, and on January 10,1835, the Methodist-Episcopal Church received
13	a grant for three acres of land at \$3.00 an acre; and
14	Whereas, the Town of Franklin was established by an act of the General
15	Assembly on February 10, 1855, and was named for Jesse Franklin, the surveyor; and
16	Whereas, the act provided "corporate limits of said town shall be one-half
17	mile from the courthouse in every direction"; and
18	Whereas, the Sheriff of Macon County called for the first town election to be
19	held at the courthouse in October 1855, when five commissioners were elected – J.M.
20	Lyle, John Reid, N.G. Allman, J.R. Siler, and J. Jackson Johnson; and
21	Whereas, on December 12, 1855, the five commissioners appointed J.R. Siler,
22	Chairman; J. Jackson Johnson, Secretary and Treasurer; Jonathan M. Bryson, Town
23	Magistrate, and A.M. Bell, Constable; and
24	Whereas, much of the early history contained in the town minutes between
25	1855 and 1903 was destroyed in a fire; and
26	Whereas, in 1946, the Town purchased the sacred Nikwasi Mound site, the
27	center of an ancient village of the Middle Cherokees that was listed on the National
28	Historical Registry in September 1981; and

General Assembly of North Carolina

1	Whereas, Dr. Edgar Angel and Dr. Furman Angel established a medical
2	practice and medical facility in 1924 – the forerunner of Angel Medical Center, a
3	modern facility with 25 physicians serving Western North Carolina; and
4	Whereas, a series of town parks have been connected by a two-mile greenway
5	located on the bank of the Little Tennessee River; and
6	Whereas, the Town of Franklin has become a commercial, industrial, and
7	retail business center for Western North Carolina; and
8	Whereas, land has been purchased and plans are being drawn for the
9	relocation and construction of a new town hall, police station, offices, and equipment
10	building; and
11	Whereas, the preserved town square along with the conversion of the old jail
12	to a museum shows the town's respect for the town's past and optimism for its future;
13	Now, therefore,
14	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:
15	SECTION 1. The General Assembly wishes to honor the memory of the
16	founders and early residents of the Town of Franklin for their contributions to North
17	Carolina.
18	SECTION 2. The General Assembly congratulates the Town of Franklin on
19	its 150 th anniversary and encourages the people of this State to join the citizens of
20	Franklin in celebrating this historic occasion.
21	SECTION 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this
22	resolution to the Mayor of the Town of Franklin.
23	SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.
	- -