GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

S SENATE BILL 683

Short Title: Divide District Court District 11. (Public)

Sponsors: Senator Harris.

Referred to: Judiciary II.

March 26, 2001

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO DIVIDE DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT ELEVEN INTO A SET OF
DISTRICTS FOR ELECTORAL PURPOSES ONLY.

4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

7 8

5

6

ð			
9	District	Judges	County
10			
11	1	5	Camden
12			Chowan
13			Currituck
14			Dare
15			Gates
16			Pasquotank
17			Perquimans
18	2	4	Martin
19			Beaufort
20			Tyrrell
21			Hyde
22			Washington
23	3A	5	Pitt
24	3B	5	Craven
25			Pamlico
26			Carteret
27	4	8	Sampson
28			Duplin

CENTEDAT	A COUNTRY	OF MODELL	CADOLINIA
CFRINKAL	ASSEMBLY	OR NORTH	CARCHINA

SESSION 2001

	-		
1			Jones
2			Onslow
3	5	7	New Hanover
4 5			Pender
	6A	2	Halifax
6	6B	3	Northampton
7			Bertie
8			Hertford
9	7	7	Nash
10			Edgecombe
11			Wilson
12	8	6	Wayne
13			Greene
14			Lenoir
15	9	4	Granville
16			(part of Vance
17			see subsection (b))
18			Franklin
19	9A	2	Person
20			Caswell
21	9B	2	Warren
22	-		(part of Vance
23			see subsection (b))
24	10	14	Wake
25	11	8	Harnett
26		-	Johnston
27			Lee
28	<u>11A</u>	<u>4</u>	<u>Harnett</u>
29	<u> </u>	<u> </u>	<u>Lee</u>
30	<u>11B</u>	4	<u>Johnston</u>
31	12	$\frac{4}{9}$	Cumberland
32	13	6	Bladen
33	13	Ü	Brunswick
34			Columbus
35	14	6	Durham
36	15A	4	Alamance
37	15R 15B	4	Orange
38	130	т	Chatham
39	16A	3	Scotland
40	10/1	5	Hoke
41	16B	5	Robeson
42	10B 17A	3	Rockingham
43	17B	3	Stokes
43 44	1 / D	5	Stokes
			Sully

GENERAL A	ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA	SESSION 20
18	12	Guilford
19A	4	Cabarrus
19B	6	Montgomery
		Moore
		Randolph
19C	4	Rowan
20	7	Stanly
		Union
		Anson
		Richmond
21	8	Forsyth
22	9	Alexander
	,	Davidson
		Davie
		Iredell
23	4	Alleghany
23	4	Ashe
		Wilkes
		Yadkin
24	4	
24	4	Avery
		Madison
		Mitchell
		Watauga
2.5		Yancey
25	8	Burke
		Caldwell
		Catawba
26	17	Mecklenburg
27A	6	Gaston
27B	4	Cleveland
		Lincoln
28	6	Buncombe
29	6	Henderson
		McDowell
		Polk
		Rutherford
		Transylvania
30	5	Cherokee
		Clay
		Graham
		Haywood
		Jackson
		Macon
		Swain."

SECTION 2. G.S. 7A-200(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) In this section:

- (1) "District" means any district court district established by G.S. 7A-133 which consists exclusively of one or more entire counties;
- (2) "Set of districts" means (i) any set of two or more district court districts established under G.S. 7A-133, none of which consists exclusively of one or more entire counties, but both or all of which include territory from the same county or counties and together comprise all of the territory of that county or those counties; or (ii) District Court Districts 11A and 11B; and
- (3) "Chief district court judge" means in the case of a set of districts, the chief district court judge for those districts, designated by the chief justice from among the district court judges for the districts in the set of districts."

SECTION 3. The district court judgeships established for District 11A by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the district court judges from the current District 11 who reside in either Harnett or Lee Counties on October 1, 2002. Those judges' successors shall be elected for four-year terms in the 2004 election.

SECTION 4. The district court judgeships established for District 11B by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the district court judges from the current District 11 who reside in Johnston County on October 1, 2002. The terms of office of two of the judges residing in Johnston County expire on the first Monday in December 2002. Those judges' successors shall be elected for four-year terms in the 2002 election. The successors to the remaining judges residing in Johnston County shall be elected for four-year terms in the 2004 election.

SECTION 5. This act divides District Court District 11 solely for the purpose of electing judges and does not change the number of judges authorized for District Court District 11, the number of chief district court judges authorized for the district, or the rotation of judges within the district.

SECTION 6. This act becomes effective July 1, 2002, or the date upon which this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, whichever is later.