GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

HOUSE BILL 868 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT ADDING CERTAIN DESCRIBED PROPERTY TO THE CORPORATE LIMITS OF THE TOWN OF NAVASSA, AND TO AMEND THE CHARTER OF THE TOWN OF NAVASSA TO CHANGE THE TERM OF OFFICE OF THE MAYOR AND ALLOW FOR DISTRICT ELECTIONS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1.(a) The following described property is added to the corporate limits of the Town of Navassa:

Beginning at a point where the existing Town limits intersect at Mill Creek and Joe's Slough; thence from the Beginning in a northwest direction approximately 7,000 feet \pm with the run of Mill Creek to SR 1432 – Old Mill Road; thence in a northwardly direction with the run of Rowel Branch a scaled distance of 7,800 feet \pm to the intersection of SR 1426 – Mt. Misery Road; thence with the centerline of SR 1426 – Mt. Misery Road in a northwardly direction to the property line intersection of E. I. Dupont Denemours & Co. (Map Book 8, Page 74); thence with Dupont eastern property line in a northeast direction to the corner of Mulberry Creek; thence in a southeasterly direction 3200 feet \pm to the centerline of Daniels Road; thence in a northerly direction $500 \pm$ feet along the centerline of Daniels Road to the Dupont property line; thence with the Dupont property line in an easterly direction to the Brunswick County line in the centerline of the Cape Fear River; thence with the Brunswick County line (Cape Fear River) a southeasterly direction a scaled distance of 57,300 feet \pm to the intersection of Cape Fear River and Davis Creek (existing Navassa town limits); thence with Davis Creek (existing Navassa town limits) in a westerly direction a scale distance of 9,300 feet \pm to Joe's Slough; thence with Joe's Slough in a southerly direction a scaled distance of 7,000 feet \pm to the Beginning and containing 8,300 acres plus or minus as plan meters and scales by G. Douglas Jeffreys, L1432, from a Brunswick County, State of North Carolina Quadrangle Map produced by USGS.

SECTION 1.(b) This section becomes effective December 31, 2001. Real and personal property in the territory annexed pursuant to this section is subject to municipal taxes as provided in G.S. 160A-58.10.

SECTION 2. Section 3 of Chapter 77 of the 1977 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3. The Board of Commissioners of the Town of Navassa shall consist of five members. The mayor of the town shall be elected for a term of two-four years beginning in 2001, and the members of the board shall be elected as herein provided for staggered terms of four years."

SECTION 3. Section 4 of Chapter 77 of the 1977 Session Laws, as amended by Chapter 424 of the 1979 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 4. (a) Beginning with the regular municipal election to be held in Navassa in 1979, the three candidates for town commissioner receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected for terms of four years, and the two candidates receiving the next highest number of votes shall be elected for terms of two years. In the 2001 municipal election, two members of the board of commissioners are elected for four-year terms.

(b) In the 2005 municipal election and quadrennially thereafter, two members of the board of commissioners are elected for four-year terms from District 1 by all the qualified voters of the town, and the candidates shall reside in and represent the district.

(c) In the 2003 municipal election and quadrennially thereafter, three members of the board of commissioners are elected for four-year terms. One member shall be elected each from Districts 1, 2, and 3 by all the qualified voters of the town, and the candidates shall reside in and represent the district. Thereafter, as the terms of each member expire, their successors shall be elected for terms of four years.

(d) <u>Until changed in accordance with law, the boundaries of the districts are as</u> follows:

- (1) District 1 consists of the boundaries of the Town of Navassa on December 30, 2001.
- (2) District 2 consists of the area annexed to the town on December 31, 2001, which is south of the CSX Railroad tracks.
- (3) District 3 consists of the area annexed to the town on December 31, 2001, which is north of the CSX Railroad tracks."
- **SECTION 4.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 31st day of July,

Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives

2001.