GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

H HOUSE BILL 804

Short Title:	Add Additional ADA to District 9.	(Public)	
Sponsors:	Representatives B. Richardson and Garrison (Primary Sponsors).		
	For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly web site.		
Referred to:	State and Local Government I, if favorable, Judiciary I		

April 13, 2017

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ADD AN ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEY TO PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICT NINE.

4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

5 6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-60 reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-60. District attorneys and prosecutorial districts.

- (a) The State shall be divided into prosecutorial districts, as shown in subsection (a1) of this section. There shall be a district attorney for each prosecutorial district, as provided in subsections (b) and (c) of this section who shall be a resident of the prosecutorial district for which elected. A vacancy in the office of district attorney shall be filled as provided in Article IV, Sec. 19 of the Constitution.
- (a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

15	C		No. of Full-Time
16	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
17	District	Counties	Attorneys
18	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11
19		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
20		Perquimans	
21	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	8
22		Tyrrell, Washington	
23	3A	Pitt	11
24	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	12
25	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	18
26		Sampson	
27	5	New Hanover, Pender	18
28	6	Bertie, Halifax, Hertford,	10
29		Northampton	
30	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	18
31	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	14
32	9	Franklin, Granville,	10 11
33		Vance, Warren	
34	9A	Person, Caswell	6
35	10	Wake	41



General	Assembly O	Session 2017	
	11A	Harnett, Lee	9
	11B	Johnston	10
	12	Cumberland	23
	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	13
	14	Durham	18
	15A	Alamance	11
	15B	Orange, Chatham	10
	16A	Scotland, Hoke	7
	16B	Robeson	12
	16C	Anson, Richmond	6
	17A	Rockingham	7
	17B	Stokes, Surry	8
	18	Guilford	32
	19A	Cabarrus	9
	19B	Montgomery, Randolph	9
	19C	Rowan	8
	19D	Moore	5
	20A		5
		Stanly	
	20B	Union	10
	21	Forsyth	25
	22A	Alexander, Iredell	11
	22B	Davidson, Davie	11
	23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	8
		Yadkin	
	24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	7
		Watauga, Yancey	
	25	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	18
	26	Mecklenburg	58
	27A	Gaston	14
	27B	Cleveland,	11
		Lincoln	
	28	Buncombe	14
	29A	McDowell, Rutherford	7
	29B	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	8
	30	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	10
		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,	
		Swain.	
"			
	SECTION	V 2. This act becomes effective July 1, 2017.	