## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

FILED SENATE
Feb 12, 2013
S.J.R. 77
PRINCIPAL CLERK

 $\mathbf{S}$ 

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION DRSJR85023-LG-21B\* (01/24)

Sponsors: Senator J. Davis (Primary Sponsor).
Referred to:
A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE TOWN OF
HAYESVILLE.
Whereas, Hayesville started as a hilltop village nestled between the mountains and
valleys of Clay County; and
Whereas, Hayesville was named for George Washington Hayes, a former member
of the General Assembly, who was instrumental in the formation of Clay County in 1861; and
Whereas, Hayesville was incorporated by an act of the General Assembly in March,
1913; and
Whereas, Hayesville's first officers included Mayor S.E. Hogsed; Commissioners
P.N. Tiger, John O. Scroggs, and Early Anderson; and Marshal Frank McClure; and
Whereas, Hayesville now serves as the county seat of Clay County; and
Whereas, the citizens of Hayesville have contributed to the social, cultural, political,
and economic prosperity of the State of North Carolina; and
Whereas, 2013 marks the 100th anniversary of the Town of Hayesville, which will
be celebrated with events sponsored by both local government and community organizations
working together to recognize key moments, businesses, and people that have impacted the
Town; and
Whereas, the citizens of Hayesville hope the Town's future will be built on the
success of their past values and continued commitment to working together; Now, therefore,
Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:
<b>SECTION 1.</b> The General Assembly honors the memory of the early founders of
the Town of Hayesville, including George Washington Hayes, and honors the Town on its
100th anniversary.
<b>SECTION 2.</b> The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this
resolution to the Mayor of the Town of Hayesville.
<b>SECTION 3.</b> This resolution is effective upon ratification.

