## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

## SENATE BILL 177 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO REMOVE CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWNS OF HOOKERTON AND MAYSVILLE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

## **SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

. .

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 9<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2013.

- s/ Daniel J. Forest President of the Senate
- s/ Thom Tillis Speaker of the House of Representatives

