## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

S

## SENATE DRS55019-LBx-64 (1/30)

Short Title:	Norwood Satellite Annexations.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senator Purcell.	
Referred to:		

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 2 AN ACT MODIFYING THE STANDARDS FOR SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE 3 TOWN OF NORWOOD. 4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 5 SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b), as it applies to the Town of Norwood under S.L. 6 2007-71, reads as rewritten: 7 "(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following 8 standards: 9 (1)The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more than three miles five miles from the primary corporate limits of the 10 annexing city. 11 12 (2)No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits 13 14 of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this section. The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to provide 15 (3) 16 the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it 17 provides within its primary corporate limits. If the area proposed for annexation, or any portion thereof, is a subdivision 18 (4) as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must be included. 19 20 The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the (5) area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed twenty-five 21 22 percent (25%) fifty percent (50%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. 23 This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, 24 Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, 25 Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, 26 27 Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, 28 Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, 29 30 Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, 31 Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, 32 33 Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, 34 Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, 35 36 Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City,



D

	General Assembly of North CarolinaSession 2009
1	Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha,
2	Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."
3	<b>SECTION 2.</b> This act applies to the Town of Norwood only.
4	<b>SECTION 3.</b> This act is effective when it becomes law.