## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 2007 RATIFIED BILL**

## **RESOLUTION 2007-3 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 33**

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE APPALACHIAN STATE UNIVERSITY FOOTBALL TEAM ON WINNING ITS SECOND STRAIGHT NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF DR. LOWELL FURMAN.

Whereas, on December 15, 2006, Appalachian State University's football team won the 2006 National Collegiate Athletic Association's (NCAA) Division I championship, defeating the University of Massachusetts by a score of 28-17; and

Whereas, this victory gave the Mountaineers their second straight national

title; and

Whereas, the Mountaineers won their second straight Southern Conference championship compiling a conference record of 7-0 and an overall record of 14-1, the

most wins in school history; and

Whereas, many individual Mountaineer players were recognized for their efforts during the season, including Armanti Edwards, who was named the national Freshman of the Year; Kevin Richardson, who was chosen as the Most Valuable Player during the playoffs and the Southern Conference Offensive Player of the Year; and Marques Murrell, who was named the Southern Conference Defensive Player of the Year; and

Whereas, a school record of eight players received all-American honors, including Armanti Edwards, Kevin Richardson, Kerry Brown, Marques Murrell, Corey Lynch, Jeremy Wiggins, Daniel Bettis, and Matt Isenhour, and 19 players received all-conference selections; and

Whereas, Coach Jerry Moore received numerous coaching awards, including the Eddie Robinson Award from The Sports Network, and was named the national

Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association; and

Whereas, Coach Moore improved his number of victories at Appalachian State University to 154, further extending his record for the most wins for any coach in the Southern Conference; and

Whereas, the entire football team and coaching staff deserve recognition and congratulations for winning a second national football championship, which has brought great honor and distinction to the State; and

Whereas, it is also fitting to recognize the Mountaineers' strong fan base,

which provided outstanding support to the team during its 2006 season; and

Whereas, one of those ardent fans was the late Dr. Lowell Furman, a longtime supporter of ASU football and ASU athletics, who served as a physician for ASU's football team for five decades, President of the North Carolina Surgical Association, President of the Watauga Surgical Group for 34 years, cofounder of the World Medical Missions, and as a two-term governor for North Carolina to the American College of Surgeons; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

**SECTION 1.** The General Assembly congratulates the Appalachian State University Mountaineers on winning the 2006 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Football Championship and recognizes the achievements of the players,

coaches, students, alumni, and support staff who were instrumental in helping the football team win its second straight national championship.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly honors the memory of Dr. Lowell Furman for his contributions to Appalachian State University athletics.

SECTION 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a copy of this resolution to Appalachian State University Chancellor Kenneth Peacock, Athletics Director Charlie Cobb, Head Coach Jerry Moore, and the family of Dr. Lowell Furman.

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 8th day of

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 8<sup>th</sup> day of February, 2007.

> Charlie S. Dannelly Deputy President Pro Tempore of the Senate

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives