GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

SENATE BILL 2085

	Short Title: Du	rham Court Position Funds.	(Public)		
	Sponsors: Se	nator Atwater.			
	Referred to: Ap				
	May 28, 2008				
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGE FOR DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 14, FIVE ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEYS AND THREE VICTIM WITNESS ASSISTANTS FOR PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICT 14, AND SIX DEPUTY CLERKS AND FOUR MAGISTRATES FOR DURHAM COUNTY. The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten: "(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:				
12 13	District	Judges	County		
14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21	1	5	Camden Chowan Currituck Dare Gates Pasquotank Perquimans		
22 23 24 25 26	2	4	Martin Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington		
27	3A	5	Pitt		

Craven

Pamlico

S

3B

Ge	eneral Assembly	of North Carolina	Session 200
			Carteret
	4	8	Sampson
			Duplin
			Jones
			Onslow
	5	9	NewHanover
	C	2	Pender
	6A	3	Halifax
	6B	3	Northampton
	02	U	Bertie
			Hertford
	7	7	Nash
	1	,	Edgecombe
			Wilson
	8	6	Wayne
	0	0	Greene
	0	4	Lenoir
	9	4	Granville
			(partofVance
			seesubsection(b))
		2	Franklin
	9A	2	Person
		_	Caswell
	9B	2	Warren
			(part of Vance see
			subsection(b))
	10	18	Wake
	11	10	Harnett
			Johnston
			Lee
	12	10	Cumberland
	13	6	Bladen
			Brunswick
			Columbus
	14	7 <u>8</u>	Durham
	15A	4	Alamance
	15B	5	Orange
			Chatham
	16A	3	Scotland
	·		Hoke
	16B	5	Robeson
	17A	3	Rockingham
	17B	4	Stokes
		7	Surry

G	eneral Assembly	of North Carolina	Session 200
	18	14	Guilford
	19A	4	Cabarrus
	19B	7	Montgomery
			Moore
			Randolph
	19C	5	Rowan
	20A	4	Stanly
			Anson
			Richmond
	20B	1	(part of Union
	202	-	see subsection(b))
	20C	2	(part of Union
	200	-	see subsection(b))
	20D	1	Union
	201	10	Forsyth
	21 22A	5	Alexander
		5	Iredell
	22B	6	Davidson
	22 D	0	Davidson
	23	4	
	23	4	Alleghany
			Ashe
			Wilkes
	2.1		Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
			Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	9	Burke
			Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	20	Mecklenburg
	27A	7	Gaston
	27B	5	Cleveland
			Lincoln
	28	7	Buncombe
	29A	3	McDowell
			Rutherford
	29B	4	Henderson
			Polk
			Transylvania
	30	6	Cherokee
			Clay
			Graham

1 2 3 4 5 6		The Governor shall appoint the ad		
7	for District Court District 14 authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2010 election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2011.			
8		G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten:		
9		of the State are organized into prose		
10		and the number of full-time assistan	t district attorneys set forth	
11	in the following table:			
12	D		No. of Full-Time	
13 14	Prosecutorial	Counting	Asst. District	
14 15	District 1	Counties	Attorneys 11	
15 16	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11	
10 17		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,		
17	2	Perquimans Resultant Hyde Martin	7	
18 19	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin, Tyrrell, Washington	7	
20	3A	Pitt	11	
20 21	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	11	
21	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	12	
23	т	Sampson	10	
23 24	5	New Hanover, Pender	17	
25	6A	Halifax	5	
26	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	6	
20 27	01	Northampton	0	
28	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	18	
29	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	14	
30	9	Franklin, Granville,	12	
31	-	Vance, Warren		
32	9A	Person, Caswell	5	
33	10	Wake	39	
34	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee	17	
35	12	Cumberland	22	
36	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	13	
37	14	Durham	16 <u>21</u>	
38	15A	Alamance	10	
39	15B	Orange, Chatham	10	
40	16A	Scotland, Hoke	6	
41	16B	Robeson	13	
42	17A	Rockingham	6	
43	17B	Stokes, Surry	7	
44	18	Guilford	31	

General Assembly	of North Carolina
-------------------------	-------------------

1	19A	Cabarrus	9
2	19B	Montgomery, Randolph	9
3	19C	Rowan	7
4	19D	Moore	5
5	20A	Anson, Richmond,	11
6		Stanly	
7	20B	Union	9
8	21	Forsyth	24
9	22	Alexander, Davidson, Davie,	20
10		Iredell	
11	23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	8
12		Yadkin	
13	24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	7
14		Watauga, Yancey	
15	25	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	18
16	26	Mecklenburg	53
17	27A	Gaston	14
18	27B	Cleveland,	10
19		Lincoln	
20	28	Buncombe	13
21	29A	McDowell, Rutherford	7
22	29B	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	8
23	30	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	11
24		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,	
25		Swain."	
26	SECTION 4.	There is appropriated from the Gene	ral Fund to the Judici
~ =			

SECTION 4. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of one million two hundred ninety-seven thousand seven hundred thirty-one dollars (\$1,297,731) for the 2008-2009 fiscal year to establish the additional district court judge authorized for District Court District 14 by this act, to establish the five assistant district attorneys authorized for Prosecutorial District 14 by this act and three victim witness assistant positions for Prosecutorial District 14, and to establish six deputy clerk positions and four magistrate positions for Mecklenburg County.

33 **SECTION 5.** This act becomes effective July 1, 2008.