## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

SENATE DRS55699-LL-373 (05/16)

D

(Public)

Short Title:	Durham Court Position Funds.
Sponsors:	Senator Atwater.

Sponsors:Senator Atwater.Referred to:

ASSISTANT ASSISTANTS CLERKS AND ne General Assen	DISTRICT ATTORNEYS FOR PROSECUTORIAL FOUR MAGISTRATES FO	ISTRICT 14, FIVE ADDITIC AND THREE VICTIM WIT DISTRICT 14, AND SIX DE OR DURHAM COUNTY.
ASSISTANTS CLERKS AND ne General Assen	FOR PROSECUTORIAL FOUR MAGISTRATES FO	DISTRICT 14, AND SIX DE
CLERKS AND ne General Assen	FOUR MAGISTRATES FO	
ne General Assen		IN DURHAM COUNT I.
		<b>.</b>
NHT TH	<b>DN 1.</b> G.S. 7A-133(a) reads a	
		the numbers of judges as set forth
	thet court district shall have	the numbers of judges as set form
llowing table:		
District	Judges	County
1	5	Camden
		Chowan
		Chowan
		Currituck
		Currituck
		Currituck Dare
		Currituck Dare Gates
2	4	Currituck Dare Gates Pasquotank
2	4	Currituck Dare Gates Pasquotank Perquimans
2	4	Currituck Dare Gates Pasquotank Perquimans Martin
2	4	Currituck Dare Gates Pasquotank Perquimans Martin Beaufort
2	4	Currituck Dare Gates Pasquotank Perquimans Martin Beaufort Tyrrell

S

G	eneral Assembly	of North Carolina	Session 200
	3B	6	Craven
			Pamlico
			Carteret
	4	8	Sampson
			Duplin
			Jones
			Onslow
	5	9	NewHanover
	-	-	Pender
	6A	3	Halifax
	6B	3	Northampton
	0D	5	Bertie
			Hertford
	7	7	Nash
	1	7	
			Edgecombe
	0		Wilson
	8	6	Wayne
			Greene
			Lenoir
	9	4	Granville
			(partofVance
			seesubsection(b))
			Franklin
	9A	2	Person
			Caswell
	9B	2	Warren
			(part of Vance see
			subsection(b))
	10	18	Wake
	11	10	Harnett
		-	Johnston
			Lee
	12	10	Cumberland
	12	6	Bladen
	15	0	Brunswick
			Columbus
	14	7 <u>8</u>	Durham
	14 15A		Alamance
		4 5	
	15B	3	Orange
	1.6.4	2	Chatham
	16A	3	Scotland
	1.00	~	Hoke
	16B	5 3	Robeson
	17A	3	Rockingham

Ge	eneral Assembly	of North Carolina	Session 200
	17B	4	Stokes
			Surry
	18	14	Guilford
	19A	4	Cabarrus
	19B	7	Montgomery
			Moore
			Randolph
	19C	5	Rowan
	20A	4	Stanly
	-		Anson
			Richmond
	20B	1	(part of Union
	200		see subsection(b))
	20C	2	(part of Union
	200	-	see subsection(b))
	20D	1	Union
	201	10	Forsyth
	21 22A	5	Alexander
		5	Iredell
	22B	6	Davidson
	220	0	Davie
	23	4	Alleghany
	23	+	Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	
	24	4	Avery
			Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
	25	0	Yancey
	25	9	Burke
			Caldwell
	26	20	Catawba
	26	20	Mecklenburg
	27A	7	Gaston
	27B	5	Cleveland
			Lincoln
	28	7	Buncombe
	29A	3	McDowell
			Rutherford
	29B	4	Henderson
			Polk
			Transylvania
	30	6	Cherokee

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12	Clay Graham Haywood Jackson Macon Swain." SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District Court District 14 authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2010 election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2011. SECTION 3. G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten: "(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth		
13 14	in the following table:		No. of Full-Time
14	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
15 16	District	Counties	Attorneys
17	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11
18	1	Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	11
19		Perquimans	
20	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	7
21	-	Tyrrell, Washington	
22	3A	Pitt	11
23	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	12
24	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	18
25		Sampson	
26	5	New Hanover, Pender	17
27	6A	Halifax	5
28	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	6
29		Northampton	
30	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	18
31	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	14
32	9	Franklin, Granville,	12
33		Vance, Warren	
34	9A	Person, Caswell	5
35	10	Wake	39
36	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee	17
37	12	Cumberland	22
38	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	13
39	14	Durham	<del>16</del> <u>21</u>
40	15A	Alamance	10
41	15B	Orange, Chatham	10
42	16A	Scotland, Hoke	6
43	16B	Robeson	13
44	17A	Rockingham	6

	General Assembly of N	orth Carolina	Session 2007
1	17B	Stokes, Surry	7
2	18	Guilford	31
3	19A	Cabarrus	9
4	19B	Montgomery, Randolph	9
5	19C	Rowan	7
6	19D	Moore	5
7	20A	Anson, Richmond,	11
8		Stanly	
9	20B	Union	9
10	21	Forsyth	24
11	22	Alexander, Davidson, Davie,	20
12		Iredell	
13	23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	8
14		Yadkin	
15	24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	7
16		Watauga, Yancey	
17	25	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	18
18	26	Mecklenburg	53
19	27A	Gaston	14
20	27B	Cleveland,	10
21		Lincoln	
22	28	Buncombe	13
23	29A	McDowell, Rutherford	7
24	29B	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	8
25	30	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	11
26		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,	
27		Swain."	
28	SECTION 4	. There is appropriated from the Genera	l Fund to the Judicial
29	Department the sum of	one million two hundred ninety-seven the	ousand seven hundred

۰.

**SECTION 4.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of one million two hundred ninety-seven thousand seven hundred thirty-one dollars (\$1,297,731) for the 2008-2009 fiscal year to establish the additional district court judge authorized for District Court District 14 by this act, to establish the five assistant district attorneys authorized for Prosecutorial District 14 by this act and three victim witness assistant positions for Prosecutorial District 14, and to establish six deputy clerk positions and four magistrate positions for Mecklenburg County.

35 **SECTION 5.** This act becomes effective July 1, 2008.

.

a