## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S 2

## SENATE BILL 62 State and Local Government Committee Substitute Adopted 4/27/05

Short Title:	Gibson Charter Amendments.	(Local)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		

## February 7, 2005

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT AMENDING THE CHARTER OF THE TOWN OF GIBSON TO EXTEND THE TOWN COMMISSIONERS' TERMS OF OFFICE FROM TWO TO FOUR YEARS AND STAGGERING THOSE TERMS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

1

2

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17

18

19

2021

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

**SECTION 1.** Section 2 of the Charter of the Town of Gibson, being Chapter 163 of the Private Laws of 1899, as amended by Chapter 59 of the Private Laws of 1915, reads as rewritten:

That the officers of the said town shall consist of a mayor, five commissioners, a constable, a clerk and treasurer and as many policemen as may be necessary in the opinion of the said town for preserving peace and good order therein. That the mayor and five commissioners shall be elected by the qualified voters of said town as hereinafter provided. That the other officers of said incorporation shall be elected by the commissioners. That until the first election under this act shall be held and the officers found to be elected by the same shall have qualified, W.W. Goodwin shall be major and T.G. Gibson, W.E. Caldwell, P.R. Mason, C.L. Gibson and Joshua Gibson shall be commissioners of said incorporation, and that the said commissioners shall elect the clerk and treasurer, constable, and policemen herein provided for, whose terms of office shall expire with the term of the said commissioners. Town of Gibson shall be a Mayor, who shall serve for a term of two years, and five commissioners, who shall serve for terms of four years, except as provided in this section. In 2005, the three candidates receiving the highest number of votes for Commissioner shall be elected to four-year terms, and the two candidates receiving the next highest number of votes for Commissioner shall be elected to two-year terms. In 2007, and quadrennially thereafter, two members shall be elected to four-year terms. In 2009, and quadrennially thereafter, three members shall be elected to four-year terms. The Mayor and Town Commissioners shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified pursuant to general law."

- SECTION 2. Section 4 of the Charter of the Town of Gibson, being Chapter 163 of the Private Laws of 1899, as amended by Chapter 59 of the Private Laws of 1915, is repealed.
- **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.