## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

## S

## SENATE DRS55449-LMx-191 (05/16)

Short Title: Clayton/Princeton Satellite Annexations.

Sponsors:Senator Smith.Referred to:

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS BY THE
2	TOWNS OF CLAYTON AND PRINCETON.
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
5	<b>SECTION 1.</b> G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:
6	"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
7	standards:
8	····
9	(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to
10	the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten
11	percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the
12	annexing city.
13	This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont,
14	Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory,
15	Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern,
16	Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury,
17	Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier,
18	Ayden, Bladenboro, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Creswell,
19	Dallas, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs,
20	Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley,
21	Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine
22	Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Spencer,
23	Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw,
24	Waynesville, Wendell, Windsor, and Zebulon."
25	<b>SECTION 2.</b> This act is effective when it becomes law.

D

(Local)