GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

S

nuisance.

SENATE BILL 1312

State and Local Government Committee Substitute Adopted 7/24/02 **House Committee Substitute Favorable 8/20/02**

Short Title: Fayetteville/Durham/Spr.Lake/Whiteville Bldg. (Local
Sponsors:
Referred to:
June 11, 2002
A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT TO ALLOW THE CITIES OF DURHAM AND FAYETTEVILLE AND THE TOWN OF SPRING LAKE TO DECLARE RESIDENTIAL BUILDINGS IN COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT TARGET AREAS UNSAFE AND HAVE THE OPTION OF DEMOLISHING THOSE BUILDINGS PURSUANT TO G.S. 160A-432 AND TO GRANT AUTHORITY TO THE CITY OF WHITEVILLE TO ADDRESS ABANDONED STRUCTURES IN THE SAME MANNER AS MUNICIPALITIES IN LARGER COUNTIES.
The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-426 reads as rewritten:
"§ 160A-426. Unsafe buildings condemned.
(a) Residential Building and Nonresidential Building or Structure. – Every building that shall appear to the inspector to be especially dangerous to life because of its liability to fire or because of bad condition of walls, overloaded floors, defective construction, decay, unsafe wiring or heating system, inadequate means of egress, or other causes, shall be held to be unsafe, and the inspector shall affix a notice of the dangerous character of the structure to a conspicuous place on the exterior wall of the building.
(b) Residential Building and Nonresidential Building or Structure. – In addition to the authority granted in subsection (a) of this section, an inspector may declare a residential building or nonresidential building or structure within a community development target area to be unsafe if it meets both of the following conditions: (1) It appears to the inspector to be vacant or abandoned. (2) It appears to the inspector to be in such dilapidated condition as to

cause or contribute to blight, disease, vagrancy, fire or safety hazard,

to be a danger to children, or to tend to attract persons intent on criminal activities or other activities that would constitute a public

(c) If an inspector declares a <u>residential building or</u> nonresidential building or structure to be unsafe under subsection (b) of this section, the inspector must affix a notice of the unsafe character of the structure to a conspicuous place on the exterior wall of the building. For the purposes of this section, the term "community development target area" means an area that has characteristics of a development zone under G.S. 105-129.3A, a "nonresidential redevelopment area" under G.S. 160A-503(10), or an area with similar characteristics designated by the city council as being in special need of revitalization for the benefit and welfare of its citizens."

SECTION 2. G.S. 160A-432(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b) In the case of a <u>residential building or nonresidential building</u> or structure declared unsafe under G.S. 160A-426, a city may, in lieu of taking action under subsection (a), cause the building or structure to be removed or demolished. The amounts incurred by the city in connection with the removal or demolition shall be a lien against the real property upon which the cost was incurred. The lien shall be filed, have the same priority, and be collected in the same manner as liens for special assessments provided in Article 10 of this Chapter. If the building or structure is removed or demolished by the city, the city shall sell the usable materials of the building and any personal property, fixtures, or appurtenances found in or attached to the building. The city shall credit the proceeds of the sale against the cost of the removal or demolition. Any balance remaining from the sale shall be deposited with the clerk of superior court of the county where the property is located and shall be disbursed by the court to the person found to be entitled thereto by final order or decree of the court."

SECTION 3. Section 2 of Chapter 733 of the 1995 Session Laws, as amended by S.L. 1997-101, S.L. 1997-414, S.L. 1997-449, S.L. 1998-26, and S.L. 1998-87 reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 2. This act applies to the Cities of Eden, Greenville, Lumberton, and Roanoke Rapids, Roanoke Rapids, and Whiteville, to the municipalities in Lee County, and the Towns of Bethel, Farmville, Newport, and Waynesville only."

SECTION 4. Sections 1 and 2 of this act apply to the Cities of Durham and Fayetteville and the Town of Spring Lake only.

SECTION 5. This act is effective when it becomes law.