GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

H HOUSE BILL 1089

Short Title: Revise Highway Equity Funding Formula. (Public)

Sponsors: Representative Russell.

Referred to: Transportation.

April 11, 2001

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO EXEMPT CERTAIN INTRASTATE PROJECTS SERVING LARGE
SCALE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT PROJECTS FROM THE HIGHWAY

EQUITY FUNDING FORMULA.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 136-17.2A(a) reads as rewritten:

- "(a) Funds expended for the Intrastate System projects listed in G.S. 136-179 and both State and federal-aid funds expended under the Transportation Improvement Program, other than federal congestion mitigation and air quality improvement program funds appropriated to the State by the United States pursuant to 23 U.S.C. § 104(b)(2) and 23 U.S.C. § 149, funds expended on an urban loop project listed in G.S. 136-180 G.S. 136-180, funds expended for an Intrastate System project listed in G.S. 136-179 which will serve a large-scale economic development project planned to create thousands of new jobs and impacting two or more funding regions, and funds received through competitive awards or discretionary grants through federal appropriations either for local governments, transportation authorities, transit authorities, or the Department, shall be distributed throughout the State in accordance with this section.
 - (1) Distribution Region A consists of the following counties: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.
 - (2) Distribution Region B consists of the following counties: Beaufort, Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, and Sampson.
 - (3) Distribution Region C consists of the following counties: Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Person, Robeson, Vance, Wake, and Warren.

<u> </u>		SESSION 2001
1	(4)	Distribution Region D consists of the following counties: Alamance,
2		Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Orange, Rockingham,
3		Rowan, and Stokes.
4	(5)	Distribution Region E consists of the following counties: Anson,
5		Cabarrus, Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore,
6		Randolph, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union.
7	(6)	Distribution Region F consists of the following counties: Alexander,
8		Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston,
9		Iredell, Lincoln, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin.
10	(7)	Distribution Region G consists of the following counties: Buncombe,
11		Burke, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson,
12		Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain,
13		Transylvania, and Yancey."
14	SEC'	TION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.