GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1993

S 1 SENATE BILL 895 Short Title: 19A Pros. Dist. Change. (Public) Sponsors: Senator Hartsell. Referred to: Appropriations. April 19, 1993 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT TO CHANGE PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICT 19A AND TO CREATE PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICT 19C, TO CONFORM TO THE COMPARABLE 3 DISTRICT COURT AND SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICTS 19A, 19B, AND 19C. 4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: Section 1. Effective January 1, 1995, G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten: 6 "(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each 7 district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table: 9 10 No. of Full-Time Asst. District Prosecutorial 12 Counties Attorneys District Camden, Chowan, Currituck, 6 13 1 Dare, Gates, Pasquotank, 14 Perquimans 15 Beaufort, Hyde, Martin, 4 2 16 Tyrrell, Washington 17 3A Pitt 6 18 19 3B Carteret, Craven, Pamlico 6 Duplin, Jones, Onslow, 10 4 20 21 Sampson New Hanover, Pender 9 22 5

Halifax 3

Bertie, Hertford, 3

6A

6B

1

5

8

11

23

24

1			Northampton	
2	7		Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	n 10
3		8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne 8	
4		9	Franklin, Granville, 8-7	
5			Person, Vance, Warren	
6		10	Wake 18	
7		11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee 8	
8		12	Cumberland 12	
9		13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	3.6
10		14	Durham 9	
11		15A	Alamance 6	
12		15B	Orange, Chatham 4	
13		16A	Scotland, Hoke 3	
14		16B	Robeson 7	
15		17A	Caswell, 5	
16			Rockingham	
17		17B	Stokes, Surry 4	
18		18	Guilford 16	
19		19A	Cabarrus, Rowan Cabarrus	<u>8-4</u>
20		19B	Montgomery, Randolph4	
21		<u> 19C</u>	Rowan 4	
22		20	Anson, Moore, Richmond,	10
23			Stanly, Union	
24		21	Forsyth 12	
25		22	Alexander, Davidson, Davie,	10
26			Iredell	
27		23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	4
28			Yadkin	
29		24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	3
30			Watauga, Yancey	
31		25	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	10
32		26	Mecklenburg 22	
33		27A	Gaston 8	
34		27B	Cleveland, 5	
35			Lincoln	
36		28	Buncombe 7	
37		29	Henderson, McDowell, Polk,	8
38			Rutherford, Transylvania	
39		30	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	6
40			Haywood, Jackson, Maco	n,
41			Swain."	
42		Sec. 2	2. The district attorney for no	ewly created Prosecutorial Distr
43	shall be el	lected	•	for a four-year term beginning Jan
	1005			

trict 19C shall be elected in the general election of 1994 for a four-year term beginning January 1, 1995.

44

Sec. 3. The district attorney for Prosecutorial District 19A shall be elected in
the general election of 1994 for a four-year term beginning January 1, 1995. The eight
assistant district attorney positions currently serving Prosecutorial District 19A shall be
allotted as follows: four assistant district attorney positions to newly created
Prosecutorial District 19C, and four assistant district attorney positions to Prosecutorial
District 19A.
Sec. 4. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Administrative

Sec. 4. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Administrative Office of the Courts the sum of one hundred twelve thousand nine hundred ninety-nine dollars (\$112,999) for the 1994-95 fiscal year to implement this act.

Sec. 5. This act becomes effective July 1, 1993.