# **GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA**

#### **SESSION 1993**

Η

HOUSE BILL 563 Committee Substitute Favorable 4/29/93

Short Title: Precinct Boundary Cleanup.

(Public)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

# March 25, 1993

### A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

- 2 AN ACT TO MAKE TECHNICAL CHANGES IN STATUTES CONCERNING
- 3 PRECINCT AND TOWNSHIP BOUNDARIES.
- 4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
  - Section 1. G.S. 153A-19(c) reads as rewritten:

Township-The county manager or, where there is no county manager, the 6 "(c) chairman of the board of commissioners, shall report township boundaries and changes 7 in those boundaries shall be reported to the United States Bureau of the Census in the 8 Boundary and Annexations Survey. In responding to the surveys, each county manager 9 or, if there is no manager, chairman of the board of commissioners shall consult with 10 the county board of elections and other appropriate local agencies as to the location of 11 township boundaries." 12 13

Sec. 2. G.S. 163-132.2 reads as rewritten:

#### 14 "§ 163-132.2. Precinct boundaries for other counties.

The Legislative Services Office shall send as directed by the schedule 15 (a) contained in subsection (g) of this section the relevant copies of the United States 16 17 Census Bureau's official census block maps of the 1990 United States Census to each county board of elections. Not later than 90 days after receiving copies of those maps, 18 the county board of elections shall: 19

20 21

1

5

Alter, where necessary, precinct boundaries to be coterminous with (1)those of:

2

# GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1	a.	Townships, as certified by the county manager, or the chairman
2		of the board of county commissioners if there is not a county
3	h	manager, on the official map of the county;
4	b.	The census blocks established under the latest United States
5 6	с.	Census; Named roads and streets and drainage features of 40 feet or
7	C.	more in width, as certified by the North Carolina Department of
8		Transportation on its highway maps or the planning department
9		of the relevant county;
10	d.	Municipalities, as certified by the city clerk on the official map
11		of the city; or
12	e.	A combination of these boundaries;
13		vided that if, as a result of the alteration, the polling place is no
14		ger in the precinct, it may continue to be the polling place as long
15	as t	he lot or tract on which the polling place is situated adjoins the
16	prec	einet;
17	(1a) Alte	er, where necessary, precinct boundaries so that each precinct is
18	com	posed solely of contiguous territory;
19		k all precinct boundaries on the maps sent by the Legislative
20		vices Office, showing the precinct boundaries in effect as of the
21		e of marking, but with any changes effective at a later time as
22		vided by subsection (d) of this section; and
23		at a time deemed necessary by the Executive Secretary-Director of
24		State Board of Elections with the State Board and the Legislative
25 26		vices Office the maps identifying the precinct boundaries. The
26 27		cutive Secretary-Director may require a county board of elections
27 28	ther	ile a written description of the boundaries of any precinct or part
28 29		itive Secretary-Director of the State Board of Elections and the
30	Legislative Services Office shall examine the returned maps and their written	
31	descriptions. After its examination of the maps and their written descriptions, the	
32	Legislative Services Office shall submit to the Executive Secretary-Director of the State	
33	Board of Elections its opinion as to whether the county board of elections has complied	
34	with the provisions of subsection (a) of this section, with notations as to where those	
35	boundaries do not comply with these standards. If the Executive Secretary-Director of	
36	the State Board determines that the county board of elections has complied with the	
37	provisions of subsection (a) of this section, the Executive Secretary-Director of the State	
38	Board shall approve the maps and written descriptions as filed and these precincts shall	
39	be the official precincts.	
40	(c) If the Executive Secretary-Director of the State Board determines that the	
41	county board of elections has not complied with the provisions of subsection (a) of this	
42	section, he shall not approve those precinct boundaries but shall alter the precinct	

42 section, he shall not approve mose precinct boundaries out shall after the precinct
43 boundaries so that each precinct consists solely of contiguous territory and that each
44 precinct's boundaries are coterminous with those boundaries set forth in subsection

1	(a)(1) of this section nearest to those existing precinct boundaries. These altered		
2	precincts shall then be the official precincts.		
3	(d) The changes in precinct boundaries under subsections (b) and (c) of this		
4	section shall be made effective not later than January 1, 1997; unless the change would		
5	result in placing a precinct in more than one State House of Representatives, State		
6	Senate, or Congressional district, in which case it shall be made effective not later than		
7	January 1, 2002.		
8	(e), (f) Repealed by Session Laws 1991 (Regular Session, 1992), c. 927, s. 1,		
9	effective July 1, 1992.		
10	(g) The Legislative Services Office shall send maps, under subsection (a) of this		
11	section, to the counties named below by the dates indicated:		
12	(1) Maps to be sent not later than January 1, 1993, to the following		
13	counties: Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Beaufort,		
14	Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Currituck,		
15	Cherokee, Clay, Franklin, Gates, and Hoke;		
16	(2) Maps to be sent not later than January 1, 1994, to the following		
17	counties: Columbus, Dare, Davie, Graham, Greene, Haywood,		
18	Hertford, Hyde, Jackson, Lee, Lincoln, Madison, Martin, Mitchell,		
19	Montgomery, Northampton, and Pasquotank; and		
20	(3) Maps to be sent not later than January 1, 1995, to the following		
21	counties: Macon, McDowell, Moore, Pamlico, Perquimans, Person,		
22	Polk, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance,		
23	Warren, <u>Watauga,</u> and Yadkin.		
24	(h) This section shall apply only to the following counties: Alexander,		
25	Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden,		
26	Carteret, Caswell, Cherokee, Clay, Columbus, Currituck, Dare, Davie, Franklin, Gates,		
27	Graham, Greene, Haywood, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Jackson, Lee, Lincoln, Macon,		
28	Madison, Martin, McDowell, Mitchell, Montgomery, Moore, Northampton, Pamlico,		
29	Pasquotank, Perquimans, Person, Polk, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Swain,		
30	Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Watauga, and Yadkin."		
31	Sec. 3. This act is effective upon ratification.		