GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1991

S 3

SENATE BILL 61

State Personnel and State Government Committee Substitute Adopted 5/16/91 House Committee Substitute Favorable 6/23/92

Short Title: Senate President's Appointments.	(Public)
Sponsors:	
Referred to:	

February 13, 1991

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS
UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE.

Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the President of the Senate; and

Whereas, the President of the Senate has made his recommendation; Now, therefore,

9 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 10 Section 1. Dr. Ricky R. Sides of For

4

5 6

11

- Section 1. Dr. Ricky R. Sides of Forsyth County is appointed to the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners for a term to expire June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 2. Frederick Lee Van Swearingen of Forsyth County is appointed to the Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Authority for a term to expire June 30, 14 1996.
- Sec. 3. F. J. "Sonny" Faison of Sampson County is appointed to the North Carolina State Ports Authority for a term to expire June 30, 1994.
- Sec. 4. Carl H. Ricker of Buncombe County is appointed to the State Building Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 5. Bruce Mears of Nash County is appointed to the Board of Public Telecommunications Commissioners for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

1 2

- Sec. 6. Barry Shearer of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the Child Day Care Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1994. This is the nonprofit operator categorical appointment. Marilyn Lee of Stanly County is appointed to the Child Day Care Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1994. This is the for-profit categorical appointment.
- Sec. 7. James P. Cain of Wake County and David M. Furr of Gaston County are appointed to the Administrative Rules Review Commission for terms to expire June 30, 1994.
- Sec. 8. Jeff D. Rogers of Guilford County is appointed to the Private Protective Services Board for a term to expire June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 9. Debra B. Minton of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics Board of Trustees for a term to expire June 30, 1993.
- Sec. 10. David McCombs of Guilford County is appointed to the North Carolina Medical Database Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1995. This is the health care provider categorical appointment. Sandra Greene of Durham County is appointed to the North Carolina Medical Database Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1995. This is the categorical appointment for a representative of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina.
- Sec. 11. Wilbur F. King of Lenoir County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term to expire June 30, 1994.
- Sec. 12. Charles Royall of New Hanover County is appointed to the Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 13. Randy Thomas Ray of Durham County is appointed to the State Board of Therapeutic Recreation Certification for a term to expire June 30, 1994. This is the categorical appointment for a certified recreation specialist.
- Sec. 14. Helen Holt Euliss of Alamance County is appointed to the Teaching Fellows Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1996.
- Sec. 15. Joseph D. Teachey, Jr. of Duplin County, Carlyle B. Ferguson of Haywood County, and John Howard of Lenoir County are appointed to the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority for terms to expire June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 16. Lois R. Ferm of Buncombe County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western North Carolina Arboretum for a term to expire June 30, 1996.
- Sec. 17. Daniel J. Good of Rutherford County is appointed to the Alarm Systems Licensing Board for a term to expire June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 18. This act is effective upon ratification. Except as otherwise provided, appointments made by this act are for terms commencing July 1, 1992.