GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1991 SESSION

CHAPTER 170 SENATE BILL 592

AN ACT TO CHANGE THE MANNER OF ELECTION OF THE JACKSON COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION FROM PARTISAN TO NONPARTISAN, AND CHANGE THE TIME OF TAKING OFFICE FROM DECEMBER TO JULY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Notwithstanding the provisions of G.S. 115C-37, the Jackson County Board of Education shall be elected on a nonpartisan basis at the time of the primary election in 1992 and biennially thereafter as terms of office provided by Chapter 314, Session Laws of 1961, expire. The names of the candidates shall be printed on the ballot without reference to any party affiliations. The nonpartisan election and runoff election method shall be used with the results determined as provided in G.S. 163-293, except that the runoff shall be held on the date provided by G.S. 163-111(e). Except as provided by this act, the election shall be conducted in accordance with the applicable provisions of Chapters 115C and 163 of the General Statutes.

Sec. 2. Members elected in 1992 shall take office on the first Monday in December of 1992, but their terms shall expire July 1, 1996. Members elected in 1994 shall take office on the first Monday in December of 1994, but their terms shall expire July 1, 1998. Subsequent terms begin on the first day of July in the year of the election, and are for four years.

Sec. 3. This act does not affect the terms of office of current members of the Jackson County Board of Education, nor the manner of filling vacancies for terms of office which commenced in 1988 or 1990.

Sec. 4. To the extent this act conflicts with Chapter 314, Session Laws of 1961, this act prevails.

Sec. 5. The provisions of Chapter 314, Session Laws of 1961, concerning the boundaries of the districts and the fact that the voters of the entire county elect all the seats are not changed by this act.

Sec. 6. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30th day of May, 1991.

James C. Gardner

President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives