GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1991

H 1

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 914

Sponsors: Representatives Blue, N. J. Crawford, Fussell, Bowman, Pope, Jordan, Luebke, Michaux, and Miller.

Referred to: Rules, Appointments and Calendar.

1 2

3

4 5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12 13

1415

16

17

18

19 20

21

22

April 17, 1991

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING DUKE UNIVERSITY ON WINNING THE NCAA DIVISION I MEN'S BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, the student athletes on Duke University men's basketball team won the 1991 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Championship by defeating the University of Kansas with a score of 72-65; and

Whereas, this is the first national basketball title for Duke University; and

Whereas, Duke University holds an impressive record of 44 wins in 16 trips to the NCAA Tournament; and

Whereas, Duke University has been to the Final Four nine times, making five appearances in the last six years; and

Whereas, Head Coach Mike Krzyzewski is only the second coach in history to take a team to four consecutive appearances in the Final Four and has the highest winning percentage for active coaches in NCAA Tournament games with a record of 27-7; and

Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments have brought great honor and distinction to our State and deserve recognition; and

Whereas, the Championship reflects favorably on the outstanding athletic program nurtured under the leadership of the late Edward (Eddie) Cameron, long-time Duke Coach and athletic director for whom Cameron Indoor Stadium is named;

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

Section 1. The General Assembly expresses the extreme appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to Duke University men's basketball team

1	for	winning	the	1991	National	Collegiate	Athletic	Association	Division]
2	Championship.									

- Sec. 2. The General Assembly recognizes the achievements of head coach, Mike Krzyzewski; assistant coaches, Mike Brey, Tommy Amaker, Pete Gaudet, and Jay Bilas; team members, Christian Ast, Kenny Blakeney, Clay Buckley, Marty Clark, Brian Davis, Grant Hill, Thomas Hill, Bobby Hurley, Greg Koubek, Christian Laettner, Antonio Lang, Bill McCaffrey, and Crawford Palmer; trainer, Max Crowder; and senior managers, Ivan Jones and Peter Lowder.
- Sec. 3. The Secretary of State shall send certified copies of this resolution to Duke University President H. Keith H. Brodie, Athletic Director Tom Butters, and all of the individuals honored in this resolution.
- 12 Sec. 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.