GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1989

H 2

HOUSE BILL 560 Committee Substitute Favorable 5/5/89

Short Title: Forsyth Commissioners Districting.	(Local)
Sponsors:	
Referred to:	

March 14, 1989

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR EXPANSION OF THE FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD

OF COMMISSIONERS FROM FIVE TO SEVEN MEMBERS, ELECTION OF

ONE MEMBER AT-LARGE, TWO MEMBERS FROM ONE DISTRICT, AND

FOUR MEMBERS FROM ANOTHER DISTRICT.

6 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

5

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16 17

20

Section 1. Effective on the first Monday in December 1990, the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners shall consist of seven members.

- Sec. 2. (a) Forsyth County is divided into two districts as provided by Section 3 of this act.
- (b) Two members of the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners shall be elected from District A, four members of the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners shall be elected from District B, and one member shall be elected from the county atlarge. The qualified voters of each district shall nominate candidates and elect members who reside in the district for the seats apportioned to that district; and the qualified voters of the entire county shall nominate candidates and elect a member apportioned to the county at-large.
- Sec. 3. (a) District A consists of the North Ward, the Northeast Ward, the East Ward, the Southeast Ward, and Precincts 8-2 and 8-3 of Forsyth County.
 - (b) District B consists of the remainder of Forsyth County not in District A.
- 21 (c) The boundaries of wards and precincts are those in effect on "WARD MAP 1985", published November 1985 by the City of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County.

1	If any changes are made in precinct or ward boundaries, those changes shall
2	not change the boundaries of the commissioner districts.
3	Sec. 4. In 1990 and quadrennially thereafter, two members shall be elected
4	from District A for four-year terms. In 1990 and quadrennially thereafter, one member
5	shall be elected from District B for a four-year term. In 1992 and quadrennially
6	thereafter, three members shall be elected from District B for four-year terms. In 1990
7	and quadrennially thereafter, one member shall be elected at-large for a four-year term.
8	Sec. 5. The following laws are repealed: Chapter 851, Session Laws of 1949,
9	and Chapter 802, Session Laws of 1963.
10	Sec. 6. Sections 1 through 5 of this act do not affect the terms of office or
11	manner of filling the vacancy of any person serving on the Board of Commissioners of
12	Forsyth County previously elected for terms expiring in 1990 or 1992.
13	Sec. 7. This act is effective upon ratification.