GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1989

H 1

HOUSE BILL 560

| Short Title: Forsyth Commissioners Districting. | (Local) |
|---|---------|
| Sponsors: Representatives Kennedy and Burke. | |
| Referred to: Government. | |

March 14, 1989

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR EXPANSION OF THE FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FROM FIVE TO NINE MEMBERS, ELECTION OF THREE MEMBERS AT-LARGE, AND TWO COMMISSIONERS FROM EACH OF THREE DISTRICTS.

6 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

2

3

4 5

7 8

11

12

13

14 15

- Section 1. Effective on the first Monday in December 1990, the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners shall consist of nine members.
- 9 Sec. 2. (a) Forsyth County is divided into three districts as provided by Section 3 of this act.
 - (b) Two members of the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners shall be elected from each district, and three from the county at-large. The qualified voters of each district shall nominate candidates and elect members who reside in the district for the seats apportioned to that district; and the qualified voters of the entire county shall nominate candidates and elect members apportioned to the county at-large.
- Sec. 3. (a) District A consists of the North Ward, the Northeast Ward, the East Ward, the Southeast Ward, and Precincts 8-2 and 8-3 of Forsyth County.
- 18 (b) District B consists of the West Ward, the Northwest Ward, and precincts 11-19 1, 3-1, 3-2, 3-3, 5-2, 7-1, 7-2, 7-3, 9-1, 10-2, 10-3, 12-3, 13-1, 13-2, and 13-3 of Forsyth 20 County.
- 21 (c) District C consists of the South Ward, the Southwest Ward, and Precincts 1-1, 22 1-2, 1-3, 4-1, 4-2, 5-1, 5-3, 6-1, 6-2, 6-3, 6-4, 2-1, 11-2, and 12-2 of Forsyth County.
- 23 (d) The boundaries of wards and precincts are those in effect on "WARD MAP 1985", published November 1985 by the City of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County.

 If any changes are made in precinct or ward boundaries, those changes shall not change the boundaries of the commissioner districts.

Sec. 4. In 1990 and quadrennially thereafter, two members shall be elected

Sec. 4. In 1990 and quadrennially thereafter, two members shall be elected from District A for four-year terms. In 1990, one member shall be elected from District B for a two-year term. In 1992 and quadrennially thereafter, two members shall be elected from District B and two members shall be elected from District C for four-year terms. In 1990 and quadrennially thereafter, three members shall be elected at-large for four-year terms.

Sec. 5. Section 5 of Chapter 939, Session Laws of 1987, reads as rewritten:

- "Sec. 5. (a) Notwithstanding G.S. 163-111, nominations in primary elections for a county board of commissioners shall be determined as follows:
 - (1) When more than one person is seeking election to a single office, the candidate who receives the highest number of votes shall be declared the nominee.
 - (2) When more persons are seeking nomination to two or more offices (constituting a group) than there are offices to be filled, those candidates receiving the highest number of votes, equal in number to the number of offices to be filled, shall be declared the nominee.
 - (3) If two or more candidates receiving the highest number of votes necessary to be nominated each receive the same number of votes, the proper party executive committee shall, from among those candidates receiving the same number of votes, select the party nominee in accordance with G.S. 163-114.
 - (b) This section applies to Pamlico County and Forsyth County only."
- Sec. 6. The following laws are repealed: Chapter 851, Session Laws of 1949, and Chapter 802, Session Laws of 1963.
- Sec. 7. Sections 1 through 6 of this act do not affect the terms of office or manner of filling the vacancy of any person serving on the Board of Commissioners of Forsyth County previously elected for terms expiring in 1990 or 1992.
 - Sec. 8. This act is effective upon ratification.