GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1989

Η

1

HOUSE BILL 2064

Short Title: Dare County School Board.

(Local)

1

Sponsors: Representatives R. Thompson and James.

Referred to: Education.

May 23, 1990

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ADD TWO MEMBERS TO THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF DARE COUNTY AND TO PROVIDE FOR THE ELECTION OF THE MEMBERS OF

- 4 SAID BOARD.
- 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

6 Section 1. The membership of the Dare County Board of Education is hereby
7 temporarily increased to seven members until the first Monday in December of 1994.
8 There is added one seat to be filled by a new member to be elected from Atlantic
9 Township and one seat to be filled from Dare County at large.

10 Sec. 2. The person elected to fill the Atlantic Township seat shall be elected 11 in the November 6, 1990, general election, shall take office on the first Monday in 12 December 1990, and shall hold office for a term of four years, which term shall expire 13 and terminate on the first Monday in December 1994.

14 Sec. 3. The person elected to fill the at-large seat shall be elected in the 15 November 6, 1990, general election, shall take office on the first Monday in December 16 1990, and shall hold office for a term of two years, which term shall expire on the first 17 Monday in December 1992. In the primary election held in 1992 and quadrennially 18 thereafter, there shall be elected a member from the County at large to serve for a four-19 year term.

20 Sec. 4. On the first Monday in December of 1994, the three seats currently 21 filled by members elected from the Manteo School District shall expire and terminate.

Sec. 5. On the first Monday in December of 1992, the term of the current member of the Board of Education elected from the Hatteras School District shall expire. Thereupon the seat shall be filled by a member who shall reside in either

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1 Kinnekeet or Hatteras Township who shall be elected in the May 1992 primary election 2 and quadrennially thereafter for a four-year term. 3 Sec. 6. On the first Monday in December of 1992, the term of the current 4 member of the Board of Education elected from the Kitty Hawk School District shall expire. Thereupon the seat shall be filled by a member who shall reside in Atlantic 5 6 Township who shall be elected in the 1992 primary election and quadrennially 7 thereafter for a four-year term. 8 Sec. 7. On the first Monday in December of 1994, there is hereby created a seat on the Board of Education which shall be filled by a member who shall reside in 9 10 either Nags Head, Croatan, or East Lake Townships. The member shall be elected in the 1994 primary election, and quadrennially thereafter for a term of four years. 11 12 Sec. 8. On the first Monday in December of 1994, there is hereby created an 13 at-large seat on the Board of Education which shall be filled by a resident of the County 14 at large, to be elected in the 1994 primary election and quadrennially thereafter for a 15 four-year term. 16 Sec. 9. As provided by Sections 1 through 8 of this act, as of the first 17 Monday in December of 1994, the Dare County Board of Education shall consist of five 18 seats filled with members as follows: 19 Atlantic Township - one member 20 Hatteras/Kinnekeet Township - one member 21 Nags Head/Croatan/East Lake Township - one member 22 Dare County at large - two members. 23 All elections under this act shall be nonpartisan, at-large, plurality elections 24 held in the primary election with all candidates being voted upon, at large, by all 25 eligible voters of Dare County. Candidates for the respective seats shall have their principal residence as stated by this section. Except as provided in Section 3 of this act, 26 27 all terms shall be for four years. It is the intention of this act that in the primary election 28 of 1992 there shall be elected three members to serve for four years each, one from 29 Atlantic Township, one from Hatteras or Kennekeet Township, and one from the 30 County at large. Further, in the primary election of 1994, there shall be elected two 31 members of the Dare County Board of Education to serve for four years each, one from Nags Head, Croatan or East Lake Townships and one from Dare County at large. 32 33 Sec. 10. The Dare County Board of Elections shall hold a filing period which shall open at 12:00 noon on July 6, 1990, and close at 12:00 noon on August 3, 1990, 34 35 for candidates to file for the new Atlantic Township and at-large seats. 36 Sec. 11. Except as herein provided, the constitution of and election of the 37 Dare County Board of Education shall be in accordance with Article 5 of Chapter 115C 38 of the General Statutes and general election law. 39 Sec. 12. Chapter 147, Session Laws of 1971, is repealed, except that such 40 repeal does not affect the terms of office of members elected prior to the effective date

- 41 of this act.42
 - Sec. 13. This act is effective upon ratification.